NanoKnife® – A NEW TECHNIQUE FOR TREATING PROSTATE CANCER

Prostate cancer is one of the most common cancers in men. Besides traditional treatments, such as radical prostatectomy (removal of the prostate) or radiotherapy, focal therapy is becoming established as a new treatment strategy. As has long been the case with other types of cancer, this method does not involve removing the entire organ. Instead, only the tumour itself is treated in a minimally invasive procedure. Focal therapy is not suitable for everyone and requires patients to have a good diagnosis. Provided that certain criteria are fulfilled, irreversible electroporation (IRE), which is a gentle technique with few side effects, can be used in patients with localised prostate cancer.

A GOOD DIAGNOSIS IS THE FIRST STEP

 

„In Basel, we perform irreversible electroporation with NanoKnife®. We offer this treatment exclusively to patients who meet certain criteria and are interested in this method, which is gentle and causes few side effects.“
Priv.-Doz. Dr. med. Malte Rieken
alta uro AG, Basel

FIND OUT WHEN IRE CAN BE USED

Focal therapy is establishing itself in prostate cancer, as it has done in other areas.

 

„The focal therapy in prostate cancer is for me the prime example of a minimally invasive cancer therapy. Convincing data on tumor control in the short and medium term, as well as the maintenance of urinary and sexual functions in most cases speak for themselves.“
Priv.-Doz. Dr. med. Gernot Bonkat
alta uro AG, Basel

SwissNanoKnife in detail

EINE NEUE METHODE ZUR BEHANDLUNG VON PROSTATAKREBS: NanoKnife®

Das Prostatakarzinom gehört zu den häufigsten Krebserkrankungen des Mannes. Neben den traditionellen Therapien, wie der radikalen Entfernung der Prostata und Bestrahlung, etabliert sich mit der fokalen Therapie eine neue Behandlungsstrategie. Wie bei anderen Krebsarten schon lange üblich, wird dabei nicht das komplette Organ entfernt. Stattdessen wird minimal-invasiv nur der Tumor behandelt. Die fokale Therapie ist nicht für jeden Patienten geeignet und setzt eine präzise Diagnostik voraus. Sind bestimmte Kriterien erfüllt, kann die irreversible Elektroporation (IRE), als schonende und nebenwirkungsarme Methode bei Patienten mit einem lokalisierten Prostatakarzinom durchgeführt werden.

Immer der erste Schritt: eine präzise Diagnostik

 

„Die Irreversible Elektroporation führen wir in Basel mit dem NanoKnife® durch. Wir bieten diese Therapie exklusiv betroffenen Patienten an, die bestimmte Kriterien erfüllen und sich für diese schonende und nebenwirkungsarme Methode interessieren.“
Privatdozent Dr. med. Malte Rieken
alta uro AG, Basel

Erfahren Sie wann IRE angewendet werden kann

Auch beim Prostatakrebs etabliert sich die fokale Therapie

 

„Die fokale Therapie bei Prostatakrebs ist für mich das Paradebeispiel einer minimal-invasiven Krebstherapie. Überzeugende Daten zur Tumorkontrolle im kurz- und mittelfristigen Verlauf, sowie die Erhaltung der Harn- und Geschlechtsfunktionen in den meisten Fällen sprechen für sich.“
Privatdozent Dr. med. Gernot Bonkat
alta uro AG, Basel

SwissNanoKnife im Detail